Friday, 8 June 2018

Book Awards - Women's Fiction Prize winner and Golden Man Booker shortlist

Women’s Fiction Prize 2018

This year’s winner is Kamila Shamsie for her novel Home Fire, which is a contemporary reworking of Sophocles' Greek tragedy Antigone.   Awarded each year for the best novel written in English by a female author, Kamila Shamsie will receive £30,000 in prize money and a Bessie (a limited edition bronze figurine).

Authors Zadie Smith, Lionel Shriver and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie are among the previous winners of the prize. 

Golden Man Booker shortlist

Celebrating 50 years of the Man Booker Prize, the Golden Man Booker Prize shortlist has now been announced!

  • V. S. Naipaul - In a Free State
  • Penelope Lively - Moon Tiger
  • Michael Ondaatje - The English Patient
  • Hilary Mantel - Wolf Hall
  • George Saunders - Lincoln in the Bardo

Golden Man Booker judges with their chosen book

You now have the opportunity to vote for your favourite of the five, which have been chosen by a panel of acclaimed authors and poets, including Kamila Shamsie winner of this year's Women's Fiction prize. In the opinion of the judges, the shortlist contains the books from the last five decades of Man Booker winners that have best stood the test of time.

The public vote closes on 25th June 2018 and the best of the Booker title will be announced on 8th July 2018.

No comments:

Post a Comment